It has always been the aim of the Society to keep ever fresh the memory of those who were greatly talented and highly acclaimed in the area in the past. From time to time a special concert was held featuring many of our best musicians, entertainers, scholars, members and supporters to commemorate these people.


The first special evening held was for John M Henderson – Fiddler, New Deer, and was followed by similar evenings to commemorate the memories of Gavin Greig Collector of Folk Song and Music, Whitehill, J C Milne Poet, Memsie, Peter Buchan – Poet, Peterhead, Charles Roy Skinner Life Member, Fraserburgh.


The Society erected a small plaque in memory of the late Hector MacAndrew in the grounds of Fyvie Castle, where for so many years he was the gardener.


We also established a Gavin Greig Memorial Competition Fund, which awards prizes to schoolchildren. This award is usually made at the Festival in May.


In September 1997 a Rowan tree was planted in the grounds of Aden Country Park Mintlaw in memory of our Founder President James M Duncan.


In September 1999 a Young Entertainer of the Year Competition was introduced to promote and encourage our younger generations and has proved very successful. The aim of the competition has its emphasis more on entertainment value than perfect performance but proficiency obviously plays a large part.


In April 2002 Ian Middleton of Arradoul was the subject of our next special evening which was held in Longside Parish Church Hall where compere Robert Lovie performed some of Ian’s poems to perfection.


In October 2003 the society presented a complete set of “The Greig Duncan Folk Song Collection ” to Aberdeenshire Schools Library Service for the use of youngsters all over the north east. The presentation was made by Mrs E Watt, Gavin Greig’s last surviving grandchild, at a special concert held in New Deer.


In November 2005 Rev. Charles Birnie, founder member, past chairman and society chaplain was presented with a CD and framed score of a tune entitled “Rev Charles John Birnie” which was specially composed and played by James Alexander at a tribute concert held in the Ritchie Hall Strichen in his honour.


On 1st March 2009, along with the parishioners of Tyrie Parish a memorial stone was placed in Tyrie Kirk Yard to the memory of Rev Charles J. Birnie.


On 12th August 2009 “The Buchan Heritage Society” launched its first CD. This is a compilation of the poetry of John C Milne of Memsie from his books “The Orra Loon” and “Poems by John C Milne” narrated or sung in the Doric by north east artists.



Past Editors of Heirskip magazine


James Duncan The first chairman
Peter Buchan The well-known Peterhead writer and poet our president for many years
Sandy Ritchie Past chairman
Evelyn Mundie Past Festival Organiser and Vice-chairman, a founder and Committee Member
Jean McKinnon Past Treasurer



In 2011 the society was very fortunate in being gifted a sum of money and it was  decided to    purchase a new lectern, hand crafted, in  light oak by Tom Ironside of Finzean in memory of our benefactor, Mr Sandy Center, of London whose roots are in the northeast.



Our 30th Anniversary was celebrated in March 2014, with a dinner at the Bancar Hotel Lonmay with Debbie Leslie as after dinner speaker, followed by entertainment, a large company of members and friends attended. An Anniversary concert was held in April in the Ritchie Hall Strichen. Sixteen performers entertained, being a selection of the prize winners of all ages who have regularly taken part in the festival over the past thirty years.




Chairman Mr Sandy May
Vice Chairman Mr John Farquhar
Secretary Mrs Marlene Lowe
Treasurer Mrs Liz Inglis
Festival Organiser Mrs Vi May
Magazine Editor Mrs Margaret Gordon
Committee Mrs Jean Mckinnon
Committee Mr Sandy Ritchie
Committee Mr Bill Inglis
Committee Mrs Liz Slaven
Committee Mr John Slaven
Committee Mr Bill Inglis
Committee Mr Robert Duncan
Committee Mrs Ann Duncan



Mrs Flora Garry

Prof. Robert Campbell Garry. OBE

James M. Duncan – Founder Patron

Rev. Adrian Hay Stephen

John Reid. MI (David Toulmin)

Rev. Charles J. Birnie

Marc Ellington

Jack Webster  B.E.M.